top of page

$100 Room Challenge | Week Three

Cutting Edge Stencils provided me with a free stencil to use for my room makeover. All opinions are my own!

I wrote this great long post and my app closed out on me y'all! Going to try once again here! Don't y'all just love technology?!

Last week, [ click here to read week 2 !] I had started my wall stencil. My goal for this week was to:


Finish the wall stencil


Install my galvanized light


Replace my bi fold door knob


Make a plan for all my storage needs

So I got this list knocked out for the most part. My wall stencil has the main section completed.

My eyes were beginning to go cross eyed looking at the stencil on the wall, so I decided to take a break from it. I wasn't loving the color anymore and I felt like the pattern was just too much on the wall. But after bringing out all my decor I already had on hand that I shared with all on [ week one ], the pattern didn't feel so busy. I think I just need to come back with some fresh eyes.

If you'd like to hear more about the stencil I used and more about Cutting Edge Stencils who provided the free stencil for me to use, click [ here ]!

Next on that list was installing the new galvanized light! It was easy peasy, I got it up in 15 minutes and bam, it was already starting to look better!

I deemed this light as my "Cutie Little Light". I was a little displeased at first with what seemed to look almost too little for the space. But after stepping back, it was the perfect size and length for this laundry room and a swinging door!

Maybe one day down the road, we will replace the swinging door with a sliding barn door and a bigger, statement light! (I went to IKEA for the first time ever this past week and fell in LOVE with their light selections! Next time, I'm looking there first!)

Then one of my easiest to do list items was to replace my knob on my bi fold door to the linen closet! Two seconds and poof, another little detail that I love! 

So that brings me to my last task on last weeks to do list: making a plan for my storage needs! Besides some wall decor, what I really needed for this room was better storage than what I was doing. 

We have a modge podge of things here in this little nook that has become our "junk holder" plus laundry stuff. So I needed to come up with a solution to hold all of the things but still be visually pretty. Pretty & practical, my two favorite words to pair together! ;)

So I headed to the Salvation Army last Wednesday in hopes to find some baskets! Every Wednesday is 50% everything besides furniture and white tagged items. [AKA: the good stuff!]

I couldn't come across no baskets that didn't look like Easter baskets besides this one that I had to scoop up! While it obviously won't fit on this shelf, I think it will be perfect to store in the linen closet to hold our beach towels!

While it isn't much to look at right now, I plan on hosing it down, giving it a little painting makeover and adding some DIY tassels around the top! Making it a perfect cottage basket! And for $5, this basket is a great thrifty find!

For the shelves, I have a few containers & boxes already on hand that have never been used. 2 white boxes (one medium and one small) and 2 galvanized buckets (on the smaller side!). On top of that, I have a large collection of mason jars (Hi, I'm brittany and I have a mason jar addiction) that are perfect for little storage items. 

But I needed storage still for my washcloths, the not so pretty towels that we have an abundance of and extra bed sheets. I searched high & low for wicker cube baskets that would fit into my $100 Room Challenge budget, but had no such luck.

I needed something cheap so I could still have some money to spare for decor to help finalize the room. So I took a peek at Dollar Tree.

They have the foldable cubes for $1. You really can't beat that. So I grabbed four of them! One for washcloths, one for sheets, one for extra towels and one for my candles.

We also store our medicines up here and while the basket we use now is fine, I would like to get something a little prettier to replace it! I am on the look out!

So my last week of getting things accomplished here in the laundry room will be buttoning up all the finishing details, putting together my decor and finding some new pieces! Here is my to do list for this week:


Makeover my beach towel basket


Tidy up linen closet with new storage cubes


Organize the wire shelving behind the door with already on hand storage


Find a new storage container for the medicine


Finish the wall stencil


Find a rug for the laundry room


Decide on the bottom of stencil what to do - add another row of stencil or stop it with trim


Possibly take wire shelving out and replace with wood


Purchase new decor


Decorate!

Alright, my list is long this week. I'm hoping to accomplish this as we are celebrating my baby boy turning two! 

Here is where the budget is at right now:

Wall Stencil: $12.95 Cutting Edge Stencil Foam Roller: $1.95 Galvanized Light: $28.26 Wood Pallet Shelf: $0 Oatmeal Chalk Paint by FolkArt: $4.80 (Used a 40% off Michael's coupon!) Thrift Store Wicker Basket: $4.99

Dollar Tree Cubes: $4 Total Used: $56.95 Total Remaining: $43.05

My friends are starting to wrap up their projects as well! Come see where they are at and how much is left for them to finish by next week! Click  here !


bottom of page