top of page

$100 Room Challenge | Week Two

Cutting Edge Stencils has provided a free stencil for me to use. All opinions are my own!

It is week two of the $100 Room Challenge and I actually have gotten some work done! Woo hoo!! 

I started my stenciling on the back wall in my laundry room and y'all - I'm in love! I was SO nervous prior to starting that it was going to be a total flop and I'd end up having to paint over it all but oh my! Can someone tell me why I have waited so long to do this?! 

Let me show you a little peak!

I started last Wednesday at 11:45 at night. I just couldn't wait any longer to see how it was going to go. Even if I only was going to put up one square! But it was so perfect and easy, I had to do a few more!

I used the tutorial that was provided with my stencil which came from  Cutting Edge Stencils ! It was extremely informative and gave tips as well! And for once I did a little bit of extra research and read a few other blogs that have stenciled their walls before for do's and don'ts. And let me tell you - there are a LOT! Just pop into the Pinterest search bar "Wall Stencils How To" and you will be given more info than you'll know what to do with it!

But I will give you some info on what I used for my wall!! First let's talk about the actual stencil! Cutting Edge Stencils graciously allowed us bloggers to try one of their stencils out for our $100 Room Challenge projects! I chose the Amalfi Stencil which you can fine [ HERE ]!

I loved the curves in the stencil and I was hoping to go for a faux cement tile look! If you hopped onto my Instagram stories last week, you seen that I was hoping to use a dark tan color for the stencil. But if you also listened all the way through my stories, you would have heard me say how my plans always change. And they did. :)

I wanted to use chalk paint for the wall. Because I have an obsession with chalk paint since my lamp makeover this summer! [HERE !] 

I liked how it gave a bit of a distressed look and wasn't shiny! Just what I wanted! I picked out the color Oatmeal by FolkArt's Chalk Paint line because in the store, it looked like a tan. 

Later that evening, I started to rethink the entire idea with the laundry room. I thought I wanted to go green and beadboard and no idea what to do with the stencil anymore. So I went to the laundry room at 11:45 PM to just try the stencil on the wall I thought I would cover in beadboard and opened my chalk paint to a lovely surprise. Oatmeal was not tan. It was green. And I LOVED it! Then. Now I'm starting to wish I was using a gray or beige or griege color. I can never make up my mind!

So I continued with the stencil and scratched the beadboard idea immediately! And I knew the stencil was the right choice when my hunny, Nick, even said, that's looks really awesome babe! Yes, yes it does!!

So up I went and let me say, stenciling a wall is very time consuming! I am still deciding how far down I want to go behind the washer and dryer!

Stenciling a wall is also not for someone who wants crisp, clean lines always. It's just not going to happen! But, as long as you wash your stencil off on the front AND back (getting the build up off the back on the edges!), you will get pretty darn close!!

I do have some touch ups I need to do! Especially on the sides, that was a toughy! I haven't been able to decide if the stencil all the way up is too much. Right now, to me, it is. I don't know if the wood shelf is going to relax it a bit, if a different color would be more eye pleasing, etc. What are your thoughts?

Last week, I hopped onto Instagram Stories to share more real time talk and I'll be back tomorrow to do the same! I'll have a poll that I'd love for you all to help me decide what to do next!

So here is where I am at with the budget:

Wall Stencil: $12.95

Cutting Edge Stencil Foam Roller: $1.95

Galvanized Light: $28.26

Wood Shelf: $0

Oatmeal Chalk Paint by FolkArt: $4.80 (Used a 40% off Michael's coupon!)

Total Used: $47.96

Total Remaining: $52.04

This is my plan for week two:


Finish Wall Stencil


Change the light fixture


Change the sliding door knob


Create a plan for what needs storage!

Budget is starting to swindle down and I have a birthday party I need to start prepping for! So I'm glad to have my biggest task started!! Now it's time to check in on my friends and see the progress they have made in their rooms!! Take a look [ HERE ]!


bottom of page