top of page

$100 Room Challenge | Guest Bathroom Reveal

Today's the day, today's the day! Well technically, I'm a day late. Whoops!

If you guys remember, I joined a bunch of other blogger friends hosted by Erin over at Lemons, Lavender & Laundry, to revamp one room, in 4 weeks, with only $100 to spend. I love this challenge because its budget friendly and *really* makes you get creative with your space. Anyway - let's get to the reveal!

First, let's take a peek back to what we started with..

The room was a catch all with no personality for our little man. Very basic and had great bones so no demo was needed. We just built the house a year and a half ago so everything was new but had no character, charm or personality.

I created my inspiration board which let's be honest, wasn't going to be the end result. I change my mind too much! But you can check out my inspiration board from week one, here.

I wanted a cottage, coastal, farmhouse look in here. And I think I got the look I desired because, this room is my new fave. Come look!

I painted the room Sea Salt by Sherwin Williams because it was the left over paint I had from our downstairs bathroom, so this expense was FREE. Score!

I then knew I wanted a wall treatment in here but since I only have $100 for the WHOLE space and let's face it, I'm not very good with "building" per say..i needed something do able for me. So I researched wallpaper beadboard and got this from Home Depot online. It took me a while to get the hang of it, but once I did I was rocking and rolling! The only thing was it is very easy to break and the glue that comes off of this thing is unreal with how much you squeeze out! But as you can see, it does have a little bit of texture which I really like!

I then added wood for trim to the top. I wanted something simple and plain and not curvy or too "fancy". I liked how wide it was too. I nailed that sucker up after cutting it myself - [don't look too closely to the edges, give me grace y'all, it was my first time! 🙈] I gave it a quick coat of white paint I had on hand and it was completed!

I hoped to frame the mirror. However, I messed up, pushed my wall trim to close to the mirror so my wood couldn't get behind there. It was getting to close to the reveal to try and fix it so it's staying as is for now. Maybe one day down the road I'll get to actually take this mirror down and put something else up but I thought it looked ok!

I didn't get to change out the light shades like I had hoped. I ran out of money and decided that could be a later down the road project.

I set off to the flea market on hopes of finding anything for the room and came across this glorious wooden oar! Hooray! I knew it would be perfect to hold Liam's towels so i did a little DIY project and created a towel holder. The whole project cost me under $25!

The night before the reveal, I went out to look for a shower curtain. I'm happy with the one I ended with but it wasn't in my first initial plan. I wanted to make a drop cloth curtain but it started to look too girly for my sweet little boy.

Once those major tasks were done, it was just a matter of hanging up, setting out and vingetting away my decor for the space! And I have to say, it turned out mighty cute! We have been bathing Liam in our room for the last 4 weeks and I'm excited to bring him back in here!

So let's do a final side by side to see the true transformation!


Wall Paint: $0 [Had on hand]

Wallpaper Beadboard: $20

Wall Trim: $9

Wall Trim Paint: $0 [Had on hand]

Wooden Oar: $15

Hooks for Oar: $7

Shower Curtain: $17

Bath Rug: $14

Cabinet Pulls: $9

Stool, Basket, Frames, Wall Art, Towels, Robe, All Other Misc.: $0 [Had on hand]

Total Spent: $98

$2 Under Budget! Go me! Go me! ;-) Thanks for stopping by friends! And be sure to check out my other friends who are revealing their finished spaces too!! Click here!


bottom of page